☀️ Why Curiosity is Important

Inside: Lessons from Richard Feynman

I recently finished reading the book “Surely You’re Joking, Mr Feynman!”: Adventures of a Curious Character and I wanted to share some of my favorite quotes and main takeaways.

Top 3 Quotes:

  1. "I learned very early the difference between knowing the name of something and knowing something."

  2. "I would rather have questions that can't be answered than answers that can't be questioned."

  3. "You have no responsibility to live up to what other people think you ought to accomplish. I have no responsibility to be like they expect me to be. It's their mistake, not my failing."

3 Takeaways:

  1. The Importance of Curiosity
    What stood out to me most was Feynman’s insatiable curiosity and playful approach to learning. His ability to tinker, to experiment, to grow, and learn from his mistakes, made him not only a Nobel Prize winning physicist and a great teacher, but also a great bongo player, safe cracker, and even an expert in Mayan hieroglyphics.

  2. The Joy of Learning and Teaching

    As a scientist and as a teacher, he emphasized the importance of education especially around scientific thinking: to understand the underlying principles and question everything rather than rote memorization. What resonated with me deeply was his approach to learning: how true understanding comes from hands-on learning and actively engaging with the subject matter

  3. Approach Life with Humor and Wit

    One of the ways I’ve noticed how he was able to accomplish so many things, while also living such a fulfilling life was his ability to find joy and amusement in both the ordinary and extraordinary. The book is packed with his humor and wit, which reflected his humorous perspective on life and science.

    What book are you enjoying lately?

👀 Come to My Senses

Every week, I round up all sorts of interesting things that I found on the internet that engaged with each of my five senses (sight, smell, touch, sound, taste). Enjoy!

  • This Jim Carrey documentary on Youtube made entirely with found footages and audio recordings deeply moved me.

  • I realize I really like the smell of eucalyptus. Too bad they’re poisonous for cats.

  • This week I learned that you can touch a piece of moon at the National Air and Space Museum in DC

  • I’m a big fan of Phillip Glass. He may be in his 80s but he still plays the piano beautifully.

  • Colder weather means congee season in our home! One of our go-tos is this delicious vegetarian congee that uses cordycep mushrooms!

☀️ How can I help you?

If you are interested in working more closely with me, here are 2 ways I can help you:

1. Apply for a free 1-hour coaching call with me to get personalized guidance on building digital products, without using a line of code. I help aspiring and non-technical founders build and launch their ideas in 30 days 💡🚀

2. If you have a business you want to promote, feel free to reply to this email or DM me on Twitter.

And that's it for now! ✨

Thank you for reading this edition all the way to the end. I appreciate you 🙏

Did you like this post? It would mean THE WORLD to me if you could share this on your socials and tag me at @atsaotsao. Thanks again!

Hope to see you in the next issue!

Join the conversation

or to participate.