☀️ Why Life Is a Game

Inside: What kind of game I want to play

“Life is a game that one plays according to the rules.”

This is a quote from the book, The Catcher in the Rye.

But most of us get lost in these rules.

And in the process, we forget what game we're playing and what it means to play or win at this game.

Let me explain.

When we started school, we were all taught a particular set of rules.

These rules were based on merit: grades, papers, presentations, tests, and eventually degrees.

Then the rules become a little more complex: the rules of adulthood require certain jobs, salaries, promotions, and stability.

And soon, the rules start to evolve.

It started to include a partner, kids, a home, and vacations, and soon we found ourselves teaching our kids the same rules.

The promised perks and rewards of following these rules are that after age 65, you get to reap the rewards and "win" by doing whatever you want.

Only then can you finally enjoy the happiness, fulfillment, peace, and freedom you've been working so hard for.

The most unfair thing about this set of rules is the list of conditions it requires for us to win this game.

We shouldn't wait until 65 or older to feel like we have finally won.

And one of the biggest lies that a capitalistic system and world taught us is that we were meant to play this game alone.

And that winning, required us to beat, step on, or even exploit other players.

The moment I realized all of this, is the moment I realized I didn't want to play that game anymore.

I want to create my own game with my own rules, where winning means that I also get to do whatever I want starting now.

And that I also can enjoy happiness, fulfillment, peace, and freedom, starting now.

I learned that even though it is a single-player game, I didn't have to do it alone

And there are other players, allies, and communities I can lean on, learn from, and play together.

I learned that there are enough resources for all of us to share, even though the world makes us feel like we’re always operating from scarcity

And there is a way where we can all collectively win together.

The first step is to radically imagine that this world is possible and one we deserve.

The next step is to define your path and your role in building it.

And that’s how you can find and start doing your life’s work.

If you need help defining, exploring, and walking that path, my coaching is designed to help with that.

I am currently offering free 60-min intro calls to help you on your journey.

Hope to see you there!

Reply

or to participate.