☀️ How I Overcame 3 Big Limiting Beliefs

Inside: Announcement + first solo YouTube video

This week I did something big.

I took a leap and decided to do a pivot that my soul has been aching for me to do for a while now: I am starting a mindset & creativity coaching practice.

I want to help others overcome their biggest limiting beliefs, and uncover their inner potential and “zone of genius” so that they can build and live their best lives.

This was the compounding of a lot of self-work, introspection, mindfulness practice, therapy, reading, writing, building, and sharing I've done in the past 4 years, and I want to pass along everything I've learned on this journey.

The moment I decided to walk this path, I felt something shifted inside me.

I felt my heart open in a way I can't explain. Everything felt more purposeful and I could tap into my self-belief much more easily.

But getting to the point of making that leap wasn't easy. It took overcoming some of my own limiting beliefs to get there

These were 3 big limiting beliefs that I had to overcome:

1) "It's too risky"

This was the first pervasive thought that ran through my mind.

I could recall the voice of a friend voicing the statistical probability of entrepreneurs not “making it”. Or headlines pointing out the state of the current economy, job market, and inflation. And there were also the voices of my parents who believed that it was safer to go back to a full-time tech job.

But when I took a step back, I realized that what usually seemed like the riskier path isn't always. The path we often see as safe may often be the one laden with more uncertainty.

By trusting my heart and finding something that aligns deeply with my sense of purpose, while not having to depend on anyone else like a boss, it meant that I had more control over the success of the venture.

It reminded me why in that lens, it could be seen as the safer bet.

The safest bet is often the one you can bet on yourself. You have the best odds in the house because you know exactly what makes you tick.

2) "I have to keep doing the thing I'm already the best at"

This was one of the hardest ones to overcome.

I have been working in tech for 9 years, 2 and a half most recently in which I coached founders how to build with no-code.

When I looked at my skillsets developed over the years, there was a very rational part of me that thought that I should stay in this industry and do what I know best.

"These are skillsets that will be more highly respected in the professional world"

"This is where the money is at! You should stick with it."

"You've already invested so much of your time, energy, and money into this. Why switch now?"

These were all thoughts that were swirling in my head, begging me to stay put and be "rational".

But I realize that's the scary part about operating in your "zone of excellence."

Most of us tend to spend most of our time here because it's often something we have spent a lot of years honing our skills around.

But it dawned on me that the opportunity cost of not operating in my "zone of genius" was too great to ignore now and I realized that I needed to do it for my future self.

3) "I want to do it, but I can't afford to go all in"

“I could just take a half leap”, I told myself.

Put my toe in the water but left room to fall back to my no-code coaching if something didn't work out. Sounds like a great plan right?

Some studies have shown that having a Plan B can harm us rather than help us.

It also reminded me of a speech Arnold Schwarzenegger gave called "I Hate Plan B".

"Plan B becomes a safety net," he explains. "It says that if I fail...I have something else there that will protect me, and that's not good. Because people perform better when there is no safety net."

I knew that if I believed in myself, and wanted to succeed, I just needed to go all in.

So that’s where I am today. I’m boldly stepping into a new chapter and I invite you all the come along with me.

If you are also someone who wants to step into yours, find your “zone of genius”, and am curious to see what you’re capable of, I gotchu!

🎥 This Week on Youtube

This is my first ever solo YouTube video and even though I realized too late that the video quality could have been recorded better, I’m still glad I got started! I plan to use these YouTube videos as a way to share openly and vulnerably about this journey and what you can learn from it. You can subscribe and follow along here.

☀️ How can I help you?

If you are interested in working more closely with me, here are 2 ways I can help you:

  1. Apply for the Fear to Freedom Accelerator Program where I offer 1-on-1 coaching to help you overcome your biggest limiting beliefs so you can make more money, and cultivate stronger relationships, all while feeling more free, joyful, and excited about living the life you’ve always wanted. Learn more about it here.

  2. If you have a business you want to promote, feel free to reply to this email or DM me on Twitter.

And that's it for now! ✨

Thank you for reading this edition all the way to the end. I appreciate you 🙏

Did you like this post? It would mean THE WORLD to me if you could share this on your socials and tag me at @atsaotsao. Thanks again!

Hope to see you in the next issue!

Join the conversation

or to participate.