☀️ Why You Should Become a Coach

Inside: 5 big takeaways from 750+ hours of coaching

I always joked with my fiancé that "I didn't choose the coach life. The coach life chose me."

When I started my entrepreneurial journey back in the second half of 2020, I never imagined being a coach.

In fact, I didn't even know what a coach does, how they work, and why someone would pay for a service like this.

I had never encountered a coach, never hired a coach, and I didn't know anyone in my life who either was or had worked with one.

My limited idea of entrepreneurship during that time was mostly based in tech, where I was introduced to the indie-hacking, solopreneur, and no-code world that encouraged a path of financial freedom that didn't hinge around a full-time job, a technical founder, nor being in the whims of venture capital money.

I became convinced that this was exactly what I needed to do to create the life that I wanted.

I spent days and hours learning to build with no-code. At one point I even went on to build and launch 12 products in 12 weeks. I knew that with my product experience + these new building skills I acquired, I could build a software product all by myself and create something where I could earn recurring revenue and can have the highest potential of building wealth in the long term.

Screenshot from a virtual workshop I did with #100daysofnocode

Around the same time, a founder reached out to me for a call to ask some questions about no-code. At that time, I had been experimenting and building with an array of tools for months now and was more than happy to share my knowledge.

One virtual call eventually evolved into an in-person co-working session, where I offered as much support, knowledge, and help as possible.

Then she asked me a question that changed the trajectory of my life: 
"Will you be my no-code coach?"

That's right. She pitched ME to be her coach.

I asked her how much she would be willing to pay for a service like this, and that was how I landed my first client and kick-started my coaching career.

Since I started in 2021, I have worked with 16 coaching clients, and have spent more than 750 hours coaching others how to build and launch their products and businesses.

During this journey, I learned 5 big takeaways about why one should consider coaching:

1. You are making a difference

One of the most difficult parts of working at a lot of full-time jobs is the abstraction of the impact of your work.

My ex-roommate quit his job working at the United Nations to study to be a doctor at the age of 27 simply because he was sick of not being able to visually see himself make an impact or improve someone's life for the better.

When you are coaching, you are always working closely with an individual to help them overcome challenges and reach their personal as well as professional goals.

And the best part is being able to be an ally to that journey and get the front-row seat to see these positive changes happen in front of you.

2. You are taking a leap and starting your own business

When you are starting a coaching business, you are stepping out of the sidelines and into the arena of becoming an entrepreneur and creating your own service business.

What separates this from other common service businesses like consulting, freelancing, or having your agency is that this is a "do-with-you" model instead of a "do-for-you" model.

In this model you are often:

  • Taking a more collaborative approach that requires more patience and creativity but makes the clients feel more empowered.

  • Foster incredibly strong relationships with the clients because this model requires you to build high levels of trust and could often lead to higher client satisfaction and potential referrals.

  • Creating a more personalized and customized solution where you tailor your skillsets to fit the unique needs and situations of each client.

  • Allowing meaningful, in-depth work with clients without requiring a large scale of operations or resources.

3. You will have a diverse clientele

In the 2 and half years of coaching, I've worked with not just tech founders and workers, I've also worked with a chef, a chiropractor, a teacher, and even a wine sommelier.

I have worked with clients who are based all over the U.S. but also in Amsterdam, Australia, Nairobi, Singapore, India, and Taiwan.

Remote coaching has opened me up to a wide range of clients with different backgrounds and goals that I would not have ever imagined.

The diversity has not just expanded my empathy and understanding of humanity but also has made the work interesting, challenging, as well as rewarding.

4. You will have a lot of flexibility

As a coach, you get to design it to complement the dream life you want to have.

One of the best things about coaching is being able to set your schedules, work remotely, and choose the clients you want to work with.

5. You will keep learning and evolving

As a coach, you are essentially opting in to become a lifelong learner: both in your field and in yourself.

This profession encourages you to help others grow but also encourages your own personal and professional growth.

Coaching has not only improved my communication skills, increased my confidence, and made me a more empathetic person, but it has drastically improved my divergent and creative problem-solving skills.

And through your coaching sessions, over time you will be in a unique position to understand very intricately the pain points of specific niches where you have the potential to evolve your practice through:

  • Experimenting with specialized coaching services to tailor for specific niches

  • Create courses where you can sell online and at a more scalable model

  • Create other knowledge or even software products based on what you have learned

☀️ How can I help you?

Speaking of coaching:

I am currently launching a new coaching program where I will help you overcome your limiting beliefs to launch a coaching business and land your first paying client in 90 days.

If that sounds like something you may be interested in read the full program details and apply HERE

And that's it for now! ✨

Thank you for reading this edition all the way to the end. I appreciate you 🙏

Did you like this post? It would mean THE WORLD to me if you could share this on your socials and tag me at @atsaotsao. Thanks again!

Hope to see you in the next issue!

Join the conversation

or to participate.